Poster prize to Enrique

Congratulations to PhD student Enrique Sanchez who was awarded the best poster presentation prize at the recent 7th Chemical Nanoscience Symposium in Newcastle (CNSN-7). The meeting also saw our collaborator Dr Gemma-Louise Davies take home a prize for best talk by an early career researcher. Congratulations!

Esther joins the group

Welcome to Dr Esther Rani Aluri who joins us as a postdoctoral researcher from Saskatchewan, Canada. Esther completed her PhD there in 2015 with Professor Andrew Grosvenor, where she investigated solid-state materials for nuclear waste immobilization applications using synchrotron facilitated X‑ray techniques. Before that, Esther was a junior research Fellow at IIT Madras in India. Esther joins us to work on the design and synthesis of magnetic nanocomposite materials as treatments for wooden artefacts taken from the Mary Rose. This Leverhulme funded project is in collaboration with Dr Eleanor Schofield at the Mary Rose Trust and Prof Rachel O’Reilly at Warwick University. Welcome!

Hany joins the group

Welcome to Dr Hany El-Shinawi who has joined our group from Mansoura University in Egypt. Hany completed his PhD in 2010, working with Prof Colin Greaves at Birmingham on solid state synthesis of perovskites and was a Humboldt fellow in Prof Jürgen Janek’s group in Germany, where he worked on electrode materials for lithium batteries. Hany has joined our group as part of our Supergen funded project to develop high throughput microwave synthetic methods for battery materials. Welcome!